TACRAO Standing Committee Report Honorary Membership and Recognition Awards 2023-2024

Committee Members:

Dr. Brenda Schumann, Chair, The University of Texas at Austin Tiffany Robinson, The University of Texas at San Antonio Dr. Rebecca Lothringer, Southern Methodist University

Please accept this report on behalf of the Honorary Membership and Recognition Awards Standing committee.

An initial e-mail was sent to the TACRAO membership in July 2024 with additional reminders asking the membership to nominate TACRAO members for Honorary Membership or Certificates of Commendation. The committee received several responses from the TACRAO membership, and the nominees were reviewed for eligibility based on the TACRAO points system that awards points for organization participation such as committee members, TACRAO executive officer positions, and presenting at the TACRAO conference.

TACRAO Honorary Membership:

Based upon confirmed eligibility, the committee forwards the following for TACRAO Honorary Membership:

Lorena Rios

Laredo College

Oscar Reyna

Texas A&M University - Corpus Christi

Robert Jenkins

UT Health - Houston

Each nominee for Honorary Membership meets the required point requirement and represents dedicated service to TACRAO and higher education in their various fields.

The Honorary Membership list was submitted to TACRAO President, Bobbie Brown, for presentation to the TACRAO Executive Committee, and the chair was notified that TEC accepted the nominations. Committee Chair, Brenda Schumann, reached out to each Honorary Member nominee regarding the presentation of these awards.

TACRAO Certificate of Commendation Upon Retirement:

In addition, the Honorary Membership and Recognition Awards committee forwards the following individuals for TACRAO Certificate of Commendation Upon Retirement recognition.

Dottie Phillips

Dallas College

Sheila Reece (to be awarded posthumously) Paris Junior College

Deborah Dungey

Prairie View A&M University

Betsy Gooding

Northeast Texas Community College

Each of the Certificate of Commendation Honorees demonstrates a longstanding contribution to higher education, service to student success, and commitment to the registrar and admissions profession.

The Certificate of Commendation list was submitted to TACRAO President, Bobbie Brown, for presentation to the TACRAO Executive Committee, and the chair was notified that TEC accepted the nominations. Committee Chair, Brenda Schumann, reached out to each nominee regarding the presentation of these Commendation awards.

We applaud Melissa Hyatt, TACRAO VP for Technology, and Jennifer Beal, TACRAO Secretary, for assisting with the call for nominations and in providing the points database to the committee.

The TACRAO Honorary Membership and Awards Standing Committee offers congratulations to the 2024 TACRAO Honorary Membership and Certificate of Commendation Award Recipients.

Respectfully Submitted,

Brenda Schumann, Chair TACRAO Honorary Membership Nominations and Awards Committee